Shibata Yuna – only you [B.L.T. August 2022]

Now that she has had her first experience as a senbatsu member, and is starting to wear a new brilliance…
We want to know more and more about Shibata Yuna.

Photo = Azuma Kyosuke | Text = Okubo Kazunori | Styling = Kaneda Kenshi | Hair & Makeup = Sawada Kaho | Wardrobe = kengo


It was 2 days of realisation that “I had overcome something”.

It’s been a little while now since you appeared on the cover of our sister publication “blt graph.”.

Firstly, I was surprised at the cover photo. I had thought the photo for the cover of a “blt graph.” issue would be one with a cool and dignified expression, so I didn’t expect one with such a big smile to be selected (laughs). I always associated smiling faces with the cover of “B.L.T.” instead. I was also surprised by the words on the cover.

The words “Affection, 200%”?

That’s right. For me, I didn’t think I had much self-affection (laughs), but the fans who have read “blt graph.” have told me “You’re affectionate, 200%!”, so it made me happy that they told me something about myself that I didn’t know of myself.

What were you paying most attention to during this photoshoot?

I was smiling a lot during the “blt graph.” shoot, so I wanted to show a cooler and stronger expression this time. I think you’ll see a completely different me than in the photos that were in “blt graph.”. However, because I love nature so much, I couldn’t help but smile a lot between takes (laughs). Where my family lives in Chiba, we’re surrounded by lush greenery and I grew up with nature all around me, so it helps me relax. Being amongst nature makes me want to take deep breaths, and I feel at ease and refreshed.

Do you usually get many opportunities to refresh yourself?

Not at all. I eat delicious food, go to bed earlier than usual, try to get a good night’s sleep, and I feel refreshed by being in touch with nature; but whenever I go back home, my skin and face feels smooth. When I’m in Tokyo, I relax by applying body cream after taking a bath while listening to Western music. I sing along to the music, and it feels great.

Not long before this photoshoot, the 10th Year Birthday Live was held at Nissan Stadium and was a big event that attracted 140,000 people over the 2 days. What was the experience like for you?

This was the first large scale concert that I participated as a senbatsu member, and I performed in twice as many songs as before so was on stage most of the time. Leading into the concert, I had so many things to learn and felt really motivated for it, but looking back on it now, it I really felt that it was over in a flash. But I feel that mentally, I have gained a lot of experiences which will only help me grow going forward. Before the concert, I felt the responsibility and pressure of being a senbatsu member.

I see. So this concert was a way for you to overcome that feeling of responsibility and pressure.

But there were times where I couldn’t meet those expectations. I was so nervous and under so much pressure that lost to my nerves during the rehearsal of my solo part for “Kikkake”. Even with that, I think that I did better during rehearsals than during the actual performance. I want to try singing it better next time.

For you, what will remain with you most over those 2 days?

I felt that everyone was on edge, especially in terms of physical exertion, but I managed to finish both days of the concert okay, without blisters on my feet or muscle aches. That’s what impressed me most. I didn’t do anything different this time around, but I think my muscle training that I’ve been doing has paid off and has allowed my body to become more resilient. Previously, I used to get blisters a lot. I think the accumulation of everything has made a big difference.

What did you talk about with the group members during this concert?

Before and after the concerts, we all had our own things to do so we didn’t have much time to chat. What left an impression on my though, was what Umezawa (Minami)-san told me as were finishing up on Day 2.

What did she say to you?

She said to me, “You learned so much and it was hard work, wasn’t it? You did your best though!” I felt really grateful to realise again that there were people who were paying attention to me, and made me think to myself, “I really did overcome it, didn’t I?” I held it back at the time, but I really felt like bursting into tears. Umezawa-san is such an amazing senior.

This was also the first concert with the 5th generation.

During the concert, when I turned around and saw the faces of the 5th generation members, I felt that I needed to work even harder now, because I knew I had some healthy competition in these girls.

What kind of person do you want to become now?

I’m a fairly weak person to begin with (laughs), so right now I’m just working on becoming stronger, which I feel I’m currently on the right path. From there, I’ll be able to find my new self!


PROFILE
Born 3rd March 2003, Chiba prefecture. Pisces. Blood-type A. Joined as a 4th generation member of Nogizaka46 and began activities in December 2018. First selection in senbatsu for the newest single “Actually…” MC of flagship radio program “Nogizaka46 Shibata Yuna’s Dreaming Time” broadcast on bayfm every Tuesday from 11pm to 11:30pm.


Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started