HIGH SCHOOL DAYS – Shibata Yuna [WHITE graph 005 (2021)]


Photography = HIROKAZU, Takeo Dec
Stylist = Yuya
Hair & Make-up = Murozono Keito, Sato Arisa, Sumimoto Aya
Writer = Nishibiro Tomokazu


I’ve never really liked school.

  • Before participating in the Sakamichi Joint Auditions, what was Shibata-san’s high school life like?

I found out about the auditions in January or February before starting high school, and I had already decided to participate at that point. Because of that, I did my best to enjoy my high school life as much as possible before joining Nogizaka46, such as going out with friends and working part-time or casual jobs.

  • What part-time or casual work did you do?

I worked as a sales vendor at a baseball stadium. When I was taking cheerleading lessons, I’d go to the ballpark a lot, and when I saw how cute the sales vendors were, I though I’d give it a go too.

  • And on the flip side, what did you do with your friends when you hung out?

I used to have an annual pass, so we used to go to Disneyland after school in our uniform. Then I’d go cheer on the baseball team or go to festivals. I thought that after joining Nogizaka46, I wouldn’t have the chance to do these things, so I enjoyed myself a lot up until the summer of my 1st year of high school.

  • Did you talk to your friends about your decision to participate in the auditions?

In high school, I was reunited with a good friend from primary school, and I only told her about it. After I returned to school after the summer break, there were people who would quietly tell me, “I’m supporting you”, and “Good luck!”. Other than that, I wasn’t treated any differently, so I thought that was quite considerate.

  • When you look back at your high school life, what was your most memorable experience?

I’ve never really liked school, but in my 3rd year I was finally placed in the same class as my friend who I mentioned earlier. Because of coronavirus, I couldn’t attend school very much. Up until my 2nd year I was prioritising my work over my studies, but for my 3rd year, I went to school as much as possible. Especially in the months leading up to graduation, I was able to see my whole class more often and each day was enjoyable. I honestly think it was the best time I’ve ever had. Actually, I didn’t want to graduate, and I wanted to stay in high school forever (laughs).

  •  What was your reasoning for that?

It was because I didn’t want to grow up, but also because I was sad that I wouldn’t be able to wear my school uniform anymore.

I want to do more modelling and acting.

  • Over these last 3 years, what do you feel has changed or grown the most for you as a person?

Up until middle school, I spoke softly at home and usually didn’t talk much at all, but after I started my Sakamichi auditions in high school, I was forced into my own self-promotion and remembered that I was more of a talker in primary school. Since then, I talk with a more confident voice, and I think I’ve become someone who talks and laughs a lot. Even now, I sometimes go back and read my notes from the auditions and think, “Oh, I said that?”.

Also, I think I have a stronger sense of work ethic. When I worked part-time, even though I used to do my work properly, I was always helped and supported by the people around me. But now, I think I have taken on a greater sense of responsibility for my work.

  • Were you able to cope and adjust immediately?

I’ve always been spoiled growing up, so at first there were a lot of tears. However, I think that doesn’t happen as often anymore.

  • Do you talk to someone when you feel like that?

I’m not really the type to ask for advice, and I usually solve issues on my own, but lately I’ve been asking my friend for her advice. We’ve been close since we were young, so we have a trusting relationship and I feel I can talk to her about anything. If it wasn’t for her, I might not have been able to continue with Nogizaka46 up to where we are today. I might not have been able to do well at my studies too, so she’s an important person to me.

  • We asked you to write down your future goals and aspirations on a shikishi board, so what do these words mean to you?

Now that I have graduated from high school, I think that the range of work that I’ll be able to do will be larger than what it was before. I think it’s important for me to be stay alert and be aware of any work that may come my way at any time. I think this coming year is going to be particularly important, so I’ll focus on everything that I face, one by one.

  • What challenges would you like to face in the future?

For my work, I want to do more modelling and acting, and in my leisure time, I would like to learn how to cook. I learned a bit during the stay home period, but now my goal is to cook tamagoyaki better than my mother (laughs).


YUNA SHIBATA
Born 3rd March 2003. From Chiba prefecture. Blood type: A. Height: 160cm. Most memorable moment since joining Nogizaka46 was the “8th YEAR BIRTHDAY LIVE” held in February 2020. “I had the realisation that I was a member of Nogizaka46 at this Live. This was a turning point in my self-awareness.”


One thought on “HIGH SCHOOL DAYS – Shibata Yuna [WHITE graph 005 (2021)]

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started